skip to content | Accessibility Information


The University is committed to good governance and conducts its affairs in a responsible and transparent way, taking into account the requirements of the Higher Education Code of Governance, and the Seven Principles identified by the Nolan Committee on Standards in Public Life, which are selflessness, integrity, objectivity, accountability, openness, honesty and leadership.

There are three main bodies that are crucial to governance and decision-making. These are the Board of Governors, Academic Board and the University Executive Group.

Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is responsible for determining the educational character and mission of the University, for oversight of its activities and for the efficient use of resources. It appoints external auditors, safeguards the University’s assets and approves the annual estimates of income and expenditure.

Academic Board

The Academic Board is responsible to the Board of Governors for the University’s academic governance.

University Executive Group

The University Executive Group is the University’s most senior leadership team. The Group, which is led by the Vice-Chancellor, is responsible for managing the University, developing and delivering strategic and operational plans, agreeing policies and ensuring implementation.