skip to content | Accessibility Information

Well-being and support

The treatment, health and well-being of our employees is very important to us. To help support this, we have a range of initiatives to support you.

We can put you in touch with advice on a healthy diet, smoking cessation, support at work and for when a personal problem which is difficult to deal with alone.

Fair Treatment

The University is committed to ensuring that employees are treated with dignity and respect while at work and acts of unfair treatment will not be tolerated.

The Fair Treatment at Work Framework addresses behaviour or decisions that conflict with the University’s intention to provide a workplace free from unfair treatment, harassment, bullying, victimisation or other forms of unacceptable behaviour.

Employee Assistance

The University offers a free and confidential support and advice service around the clock, all year round. As well as access to a confidential counselling service, you can get advice on legal and financial matters and access to information services and specialist support on a whole range of issues.

To access the service, call them free on 0800 282 193 or visit their website. You can find out more in their EAP_Leaflet.

Use these log-in details to visit the website:

Support for cancer

Each year almost 120,000 people of working age are diagnosed with cancer. If you are affected by cancer (as an individual, a carer, manager or team member), MacMillan Cancer Support provide a range of practical advice and information about work and cancer.

Engage Week (Previously Mind, Body and Spirit Week)

Engage week provides a week long diverse programme of activities for staff at MMU and is organised by Organisational Development and Training. Events range from Zumba and circuit training to pricture framing and knitting.

All staff are invited to ENGAGE:

  • and try something new
  • and discover a more mindful you
  • for a fitter you
  • for a more spiritual you
  • for a more skilful you

The next Engage Week will be in July 2017.

If you would like to offer a session or know someone, internal or external, who would like to offer a session, please contact Alison Laithwaite.

Equality Fora and Places to Worship

The University has a number of equality staff forums to discuss issues, full details of these can be found on the equality and diversity pages.

We also have a number of sacred spaces at which you can worship, which can be seen on the map of sacred spaces.

Trade Union Support

The University recognises three trade unions to represent staff and for collective bargaining purposes. Details of the elected representatives and roles can be found below:

for UNISON

UNISON issue a schedule of their agreed meetings at the start of the Academic year.

Branch Officers

POSITION

NAME

CONTACT DETAILS

Branch Secretary

Linda Holden

+44 (0)161 247 1409

+44 (0)7725 277202

l.holden@mmu.ac.uk

Assistant Secretary

Linda Myers

+44 (0)161 247 6145

+44 (0)7725 277169

l.myers@mmu.ac.uk

Assistant Secretary

Richard Lighten

+44 (0)161 247 4675/1395

r.lighten@mmu.ac.uk

Branch Chair

Patrick Gannon

+44 (0)161 247 5936

+44 (0)7725 277204

p.gannon@mmu.ac.uk

Branch Vice Chair

Angelique Bueler

 +44 (0)161 247 1798

a.bueler@mmu.ac.uk

Health & Safety Secretary

Anthony Kubciki

+44 (0)161 247 1150

a.kubicki@mmu.ac.uk

Branch Treasurer

Neil Anderson

 +44 (0)161 247 6540

n.anderson@mmu.ac.uk

Membership Officer

Victoria Thompson

+44 (0)161 247 3596

v.thompson@mmu.ac.uk

Communications Officer

Vacancy

 

Education Co-ordinator

Sue Howarth

+44 (0)161 247 6122

s.howarth@mmu.ac.uk

Labour Link Officer     

Chris Wills

+44 (0)161 247 2774

c.wills@mmu.ac.uk

Welfare Officer

Vacancy

 

Equality Officer           

Rosina Morrison

+44 (0)161 247 3486

r.morrison@mmu.ac.uk

Membership Services Officer

Christine McCarthy

+44 (0)161 247 1814

c.mccarthy@mmu.ac.uk

International Officer                

Liam Conway

+44 (0)161 247 1633

l.conway@mmu.ac.uk

Minutes Secretary

Paul Aldcroft

+44 (0)161 247 1508

p.aldcroft@mmu.ac.uk

Young Members Officer

Harry Taylor

+44 (0)161 247 2150

harry.taylor@mmu.ac.uk

Lifelong Learning Co-ordinator

Vacancy

 

Retired Members Secretary

Frank Duffy

+44 (0)161 247 1409

for GMB

Workplace Representatives

POSITION NAME CONTACT DETAILS

Workplace Representative

Fred McDwyer

+44 (0)161 247 5059

f.mcdwyer@mmu.ac.uk

Workplace Representative

Gustav Pilsil

+44 (0)161 247 5668

g.pilsil@mmu.ac.uk

for UCU

Branch Officers

POSITION NAME FACULTY CONTACT DETAILS

Branch Secretary

Pura Ariza

Education

+44 (0)161 247 2370

p.ariza@mmu.ac.uk

Branch Chair

Catherine Ashworth

Business and Law

+44 (0)161 247 6065

c.j.ashworth@mmu.ac.uk

Vice Chair and Casework Co-ordinator

Dominique Lauterburg

Business and Law

+44 (0)161 247 3088

d.lauterburg@mmu.ac.uk

Equalities Officer

Concetta Banks

Education

+44 (0)161 247 2112

c.i.banks@mmu.ac.uk

Treasurer

Geraldine McCusker

Business and Law

+44 (0)161 247 2328

g.mccusker@mmu.ac.uk

Membership

Julie Wilkinson

Humanities, Languages & Social Science

+44 (0)161 247 1745

j.wilkinson@mmu.ac.uk

Health & Safety Officer

Lucy Burke

Humanities, Languages & Social Science

+44 (0)161 247 1765

l.burke@mmu.ac.uk

Green Officer

 

 

 

Anti Casualization

 

 

 

Birley Convenor

Helen Mayall

Health, Psychology & Social Care

+44 (0)161 247 2111

h.mayall@mmu.ac.uk

Birley Convenor

Clare Richardson

Education

+44 (0)161 247 2370

p.ariza@mmu.ac.uk