Manchester Metropolitan University

Biological recording is vital for biodiversity conservation in the UK, with record centres and recording schemes in most counties. 

These programmes are aimed at those who want to develop and gain formal certification of their skills in the identification and recording of plants, animals and other species. The course is delivered in association with the Field Studies Council (FSC) and the Botanical Society of Britain and Ireland (BSBI)

MSc

We offer a part-time MSc Biological Recording. For more information including fees and module information, please see our online prospectus entry.

University Certificate

More information is available at our course page for the University Certificate in Biological recording or download the University Certificate in Biological Recording Leaflet.

You can also contact us via e-mail at biorec@mmu.ac.uk.

Day courses

Wednesday 12th April 2017 - Tackling Plant Identification

Wednesday 26th April 2017 - Microscopy for Botanists

Wednesday 10th May 2017 - Introduction to Bats and Acoustic Identification

Wednesday 17th May 2017 - Introduction to Grasses

Wednesday 24th May 2017 - Small Mammal Identification and Ecology

Wednesday 14th June 2017 - Identifying Sedges and their Allies

Wednesday 19th July 2017 - Identifying Yellow Composites

Wednesday 16th August 2017 - Introduction to the Ecology and Identification of UK Macro-moths

Monday 18th September 2017 - Using the Vegetative Key to the British Flora

Wednesday 25th October - Biological Recording - an introduction

Wednesday 8th November 2017 - An Introduction to Sphagnum

To book onto a course, visit our online store.

Courses