Manchester Metropolitan University

Sustainable and Ethical Enterprise Group (SEEG)

Sustainability is one of the five strategic pillars of Manchester Metropolitan University’s strategy, and SEEG is at the forefront of sustainability and responsibility research & teaching within the Faculty of Business and Law.

SEEG was established in 2012 around the belief that sustainability, social responsibility and ethical conduct are critical issues for all organisations in the 21st Century.

Following its formal launch with an inaugural lecture by Jonathon Porritt in 2014, our primary objective has been to work towards a future which places the sustainable, fair, and ethical development of social, economic and environmental systems centre-stage in a world where rapid climate change, widespread biodiversity loss, depletion of natural resources, and widening societal inequalities make these imperatives more critical now than ever before.

In 2016, the University made the strategic decision to invest in a new Chair of Sustainability and Innovation within the Faculty of Business and Law. This gave impetus to a new phase of SEEG’s story, connecting our group to the new University strategy.

Linked to and supporting the work of the new University Environment Institute, and contributing to the existing and on-going work of the University Environmental Strategy Board, we seek to develop and sustain SEEG as a centre of internationally recognised research over the coming two to three years.

Our focus is on targeted areas and themes that bring SEEG’s expertise and strengths to bear on areas of existing and developing priority, strength and focus for Manchester Metropolitan University.

SEEG has its own dedicated website, so for more information, please visit:

Visit the website