In the Faculty of Health, Psychology and Social Care, we have five main academic departments: Nursing; Health Professions; Psychology; Social Care and Social Work, and the Postgraduate Medical School.

Our aim is to inspire and develop the knowledge of the health and social care professionals of the future.

Department of Health Professions

We cover a wide range of professional health courses, with clinical practice placements to help our students apply the skills and knowledge they learn in the classroom.

Our courses include Physiotherapy, Speech and Language Therapy, and Sport and Exercise Nutrition.

Visit the Department of Health Professions

Department of Nursing

We offer a number of nursing courses leading to professional and specialist registration by the Nursing and Midwifery Council.

Our courses include Adult Nursing, Contemporary Health Practice, Community Health, and Emergency Medicine.

Visit the Department of Nursing

Department of Psychology

We provide a large number of undergraduate, postgraduate, and postdoctoral psychology courses.

Our courses take students from initial study to professional registration across a range of psychology specialisms and interests.

Visit the Department of Psychology

Department of Social Care & Social Work

We offer undergraduate, postgraduate, and Continuing Professional Development (CPD) courses to help prepare students for a career social care and social work.

To help our students develop their skills and knowledge, we have partnerships with service users and carers, and with a range of employers in the North West.

Visit the Department of Social Care & Social Work

Postgraduate Medical School

Our new Postgraduate Medical School opens in autumn 2017, and we’re aiming to be a leader in education, applied research, and knowledge exchange.

We’ll be home to key taught master’s programmes, a clinical research community, and innovative Continuing Professional Development (CPD) courses designed to meet the needs of the health and care sector.

Find out more about the Postgraduate Medical School