University shortlisted for Times Higher Education awards

Excellence in entrepreneurship and the Business School

THE University has been shortlisted for two prestigious Times Higher Education Awards.

Manchester Metropolitan is in the running for the Entrepreneurial University of the Year Award and the Business School of the Year Award.

The shortlists were formally announced by the Times Higher Education (THE) on Thursday, September 1.

The awards dinner and ceremony will take place on Thursday, November 24, at the Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane, London. It promises to be a spectacular event with more than 1,000 guests expected to attend, including politicians, senior sector figures and university staff from across the UK.

Vice-Chancellor Professor Malcolm Press said: “We’re thrilled to have been shortlisted for the THE awards, which is affirmation of the quality both in the Business School and in our entrepreneurial offering.

“As a University, we’re dedicated to providing the skills needed to help businesses and employees thrive, driven by our research-informed teaching and training. The nominations are testament to our commitment to nurturing entrepreneurial talent and to the excellence across our world-leading Business School.”

It has been an extremely successful year for the Business School as it joined an elite global group after being awarded the prestigious international AACSB accreditation.

It was also named the Business School of the Year at the Educate North Awards.

Previously, the University was named a Centre for Excellence for Entrepreneurship at the House of Lords.

The full shortlist:

Business School of the Year

• Alliance Manchester Business School, University of Manchester
• Leeds University Business School
• Manchester Metropolitan University Business School
• Nottingham Business School, Nottingham Trent University
• The Open University Business School
• Strathclyde Business School, University of Strathclyde

Entrepreneurial University of the Year

• Aston University
• University of Central Lancashire
• Coventry University
• University of Lincoln
• London South Bank University
• Manchester Metropolitan University

Previous Story Chief Executive of the Voluntary Organisations Disability Group (VODG) Dr Rhidian Hughes visits Birley Campus