North West Consortium Doctoral Training Partnership

Fully funded scholarships in the Arts and Humanities

Manchester Met is proud to be a member of the prestigious North West Consortium Doctoral Training Partnership (NWCDTP).

This ambitious scheme, accredited by the Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC), allows us to offer fully funded PhD scholarships across the Arts and Humanities.  

Scholarship opportunities

Through the North West Consortium DTP, we offer two types of scholarship:

2020/21 Open Competition

The 2020/21 open competition is now open. 

To apply for an award, candidates must have submitted a complete application (no missing documents) for a place on a programme by Monday 13 January 2020. Please indicate in the 'Source of Funding' section of your programme application that you are applying for AHRC funding. If you have already submitted your PhD application, please contact us at adhlsspgadmissions@mmu.ac.uk.

Please see below for further information on how to apply.

Why join us?

As a postgraduate researcher at Manchester Met, you will benefit from:

You will also benefit from being part of the wider North West Consortium community. There will be opportunities to network with colleagues at universities across the North West, as well as to attend a range of training and development activities run by the North West Consortium.

Find out more and apply

In order to be eligible for NWCDTP funding, you must have been offered and accepted a place on a programme at Manchester Metropolitan University by 8 February 2020.

You must also submit an NWCDTP Funding Application by 5pm GMT on 7 February 2020 in order to be considered. Applicants are strongly advised to liaise with prospective Supervisors to discuss your proposal and research before completing the funding application.

Further information about the NWCDTP and the studentships on offer is available via the NWCDTP website, as are the application forms and guidance notes. Please check that you meet the academic and residential eligibility criteria on page 2 of the guidance notes before applying.

For further details, please contact adhlsspgadmissions@mmu.ac.uk, +44 (0)161 247 5412.

More information

What is the North West Consortium Doctoral Training Partnership (NWCDTP)?

The NWCDTP, funded by the Arts and Humanities Research Council, was established in 2014. The consortium is committed to providing high-quality doctoral training across the whole range of the Arts and Humanities.

The NWCDTP is a collaboration between us and the universities of Manchester, Keele, Lancaster, Liverpool and Salford, as well as the Royal Northern College of Music.

The North West Consortium funds PhD scholarships, and provides additional funding to support students' personal and professional development.

Find out more about the North West Consortium

Eligibility criteria

The NWCDTP awards scholarships to students who can demonstrate consistently high academic performance. Students must have a good honours degree at first-class or upper second-class level. It is also expected that candidates should possess or be studying for a Master's degree.

The awards are open to UK and EU applicants only. EU applicants are normally eligible only for an award that covers their fees, unless they have been resident in the UK for at least 3 years prior to the date of the award.

The awards are available for full-time or part-time study.

Find out more on eligibility

Application and selection process

The North West Consortium application and selection process involves two stages: an application to Manchester Met, and a subsequent application to the North West Consortium. You are strongly advised to discuss your project with a member of academic staff before applying. To arrange this, please contact adhlsspgadmissions@mmu.ac.uk.

The applications for 2020/21 are now being taken. To apply, candidates must apply before Monday 13 January 2020. Visit the NWCDTP website for more guidance and the application form.

NWCDTP Pathways and Manchester Met Contacts

To find out who the main pathway contacts are at Manchester Met for the North West Consortium Doctoral Training Partnership, please refer to the list below:

Histories, Cultures & Heritage

 

Classics

April Pudsey - a.pudsey@mmu.ac.uk (Pathway Leader)

 

Heritage (Archaeology, Art History, Museum Studies)

Frances Johnson - F.Johnson@mmu.ac.uk

Simon Faulkner - s.faulkner@mmu.ac.uk

 

History

Kathryn Hurlock - k.hurlock@mmu.ac.uk

 

Philosophy

Joanna Hodge - j.hodge@mmu.ac.uk

 

Creative and Performing Arts


Creative Writing

Nick Duffy - n.duffy@mmu.ac.uk

 

Drama

Jane Turner - j.c.turner@mmu.ac.uk (Pathway Leader)

 

Media and Cultural Studies

Kate Milestone - K.l.milestone@mmu.ac.uk

Samantha Colling - S.Colling@mmu.ac.uk

 

Music

Pete Dale - p.dale@mmu.ac.uk

 

Visual Arts and Design

Shirley Rosemary - R.Shirley@mmu.ac.uk (Pathway Leader)

 

Languages and Literatures

 

English

Paul Wake - P.Wake@mmu.ac.uk (Pathway Leader)

 

Linguistics

Stella Bullo - s.bullo@mmu.ac.uk

 

 

Research Study