Sports Awards Ball 2019 shortlist revealed

MMU Sport are delighted to announce this year's Sports Awards shortlist.

Sports Awards Ball 2019 shortlist revealed

Winners will be announced at a glittering awards ceremony at the Principal Hotel on 21st May.

Committee Member of the Year:

Pippa Hirst- Netball 

Sophie Rigby - Dance

Alicia Robinson - Dance

Grace Eyles- Netball/Taekwondo

Laura Adam - Rounders

Joe McCarthy - Rounders

Rob Earl - Men's Football 

BUCS Team of the Year:

Netball 1st Team

Men's Lacrosse

Men's Water Polo

Women’s Water polo

Non BUCS Team:





Coach of the Year:

Ross Sharman - Taekwondo

Steve Leigh - Netball

Rebecca McKinty - Cheerleading

Phoebe Baldwin - Rounders

Sophie Rigby - Dance

Event of the Year:

Taekwondo - Fight Night

Rounders - Silent Disco

Rounders  - Guinness World Record attempt

Netball - Pong Masters

Most Improved Club:


American Football


Men's Football

Rising Star:

Sophie Rigby- Dance

Elzabeth Cardwell - Netball

Matthew McCauley - Cheerleading

Jordan Parson - Water Polo/Rowing

Sports Man of the Year:

Marcus Burgess - Football

Will Baxter - Lacrosse

Mark Bennett - Taekwondo

Robert Duck - American Football

Sports Woman of the Year:

Katie Matts - Swimming

Rachel Towell - Netball

Chloe Golding - Swimming

Ashleigh Kent - Taekwondo

Honor Grimes - Water Polo

Club of the Year:





The winners will be announced at a glittering awards ceremony at the Principal Hotel on Tuesday 21st May. Tickets for this event are no longer available.

Next Story Championship-winning Rugby 7s team head to China
Previous Story Champion water polo players make England squad